Home Away From Home

NC State vs Louisville

Although we had talked about tailgating at the game today Jerry and I decided due to our late arrival home last night we’d just have lunch at the RV and leave about 12 to go to the game. I sent Sandy a text this morning letting her know what time we’d pick them up. I think we both slept well last night since we were exhausted from the previous day. I was a little tired this morning though. We decided that we had to do some laundry so I gathered all of the clothes and towels and Jerry went to the laundry facilities. I stayed behind and straightened up and cleaned fingerprints! When I told Jerry I had cleaned the fingerprints off of the mirrors he wanted to know why I hadn’t taken a picture of them like I had with Eva’s. When he got back we began to get dressed and have a quick lunch. Sandy and Landy knocked on the door about 11:35. She hadn’t gotten my text and they’d been out walking. They hustled and got ready and we took off for downtown Louisville. We had to go by and pick up our ornaments that we made on Thursday. We then headed on to the parking lot designated for the State fans. Interestingly enough the University is not far from Churchill Downs and it’s all downtown in the middle of the city.

We got to the parking lot around 1:00 and after parking Jerry immediately took off walking around. When he got back he said he had been talking to Bo Hines’ dad. The folks next to us had a son playing, #89 a tight end – like I know what that means! After visiting with some of the State fans we took the chairs out and snacked on chips and salsa. Sandy and I decided that we needed a cup of coffee so after asking if there was a Starbucks nearby and feeling really foolish when they guy pointed to it behind us we walked over there. Chatted with a young girl who had on a Saddlebred sweatshirt and was preparing for Nationals. Got the coffee and walked on back. As we were getting ready to walk over to the stadium Jerry noticed the couple walking with us had Advocare jackets on so we started chatting with them. The lady and I discussed what we were eating and she suggested chicken and said they also ate a lot of bison – don’t think we have much of that in NC!

Thank goodness I had my cuddleduds on although I could have worn the fleeced lined pair. It was cold! 57 degrees but windy with no sun. Our seats were toward the end zone but we could see the field clearly. We lost – again – but at least we weren’t embarrassed. We left with less than 2 minutes to go and apparently the State team did also because as we were walking out Louisville scored again. Oh well.

Our GPS apparently doesn’t know where Shepherdsville is as it again took us on some strange way way out of the way. Jerry got frustrated after about 45 minutes of driving and ending right back up near the Papa John’s stadium. We finally saw a sign indicating Hwy. 65 and decided to go that way and ignore the GPS and the phone GPS. Our campground is off of 65. Finally we got back after 8:00. We were having warmed up meat loaf and I had cooked cabbage this morning so all I had to do was peel and cook the potatoes. As I was cooking them I realized that I had neither a mixer or a masher but did have a chopper. Jerry got the chopper and chopped the potatoes into mashed potatoes and they were just as good. Just as we were finishing with the dishes I got a text from Helen Jo asking me to call when I had time. We talked over an hour about Mom and what decisions need to be made. Still no answers but I feel bad about figuratively abandoning Helen Jo to deal with everything. Guess this is our last trip for a while.

Went on to bed but it was almost 10:30 and I knew I would have trouble going to sleep – yep -it was 3:00 in the morning. Didn’t know the Closer came on that many times. I had to leave the TV on. Otherwise my mind was working overtime worrying about Mom and Helen Jo and trying with no success to come up with a solution. Just praying for answers!

Leave a Reply

