Home Away From Home

Diamond Caverns

What a bumpy night. For some reason I was tired and sleepy last night so I turned in early. I had planned to watch the third installment of A.D but didn’t realize that it would come on at 8:00 instead of 9:00 since we are in Central time. When I realized that I had missed it I just turned off the TV. Guess since we’re headed to Nashville I should have watched the CM Awards show. Wind and heavy rain woke me up during the night. In fact it was so bad that I wouldn’t have been surprised to hear a knock on the door telling us to move to their safe place.

We got up about 6:30, read and drank coffee in our usual silence. When we have the time it seems to take us more time to get it together.

Jerry had sent me the e-mail from Lowe’s so I tried to go on line to pay the bill. As usual I had the frustration with US Cellular hot spot so no bill was paid today. US Cellular worked great in Tennessee but not in Kentucky. When we get home I’m going to seriously look into Verizon for my phone. We’ve done our touring in Kentucky for a while so the fact that it doesn’t work well here isn’t important.

The weather is terrible. Jerry remarked this morning that he didn’t know what the annual rain fall for Kentucky is but it certainly does rain every time we are here. It’s also windy and in the 50’s so I can’t imagine what kind of touring we’ll do. If we hadn’t paid for tonight I’d suggest going on to Nashville but then it’s mighty windy to drive. At least I could get caught up on my journaling but nothing of note to tell!

We decided to brave the weather and go visit Diamond Caverns. Along the way we went by the Visitor’s Shop at the Mammoth Cave Hotel and purchased the rocking horse that we had seen earlier. Now to get it to PB in one piece! We also stopped by Ed’s Rocks but it was closed. The owner had unexpectedly died recently and everything is going to be auctioned off this week-end. From the looks of things they had some items Jerry might have been interested in.

We went on to Diamond Caverns. Apparently we got there just as the tour left so we had about 30 minutes to wait. We wandered around the shop and talked with the clerk. I mentioned to him that I had asked at Mammoth Cave about the difference in a cave and a cavern. He initially gave me the same answer – and “R” and an “N”. He went on to say historically a cavern only had one entrance while caves had several entrances. He did say that was not so much the case now.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURESOur tour started with our guide Wyatt and only four other people although one dropped out after just a few minutes. He has a fear of bridges and was unable to walk over even a small bridge so he turned back. Quite frankly I wondered if I could keep up because my legs were still pretty sore. I made it and hope I can get out of bed tomorrow! The cavern was more impressive than Mammoth Cave. It was much prettier and with only five people I didn’t feel like cattle being herded plus we were able to freely ask questions. If you can only do one tour go to Diamond Caverns. It is privately owned and the 2nd largest privately owned cavern in the US. Three couples, all geologists bought it in 1999.

After the tour we came back and had a late lunch. We read for a while and then just as I was getting up to get ready to go out to eat Trent called and then Helen Jo. After the calls I quickly got ready and off we went to Anna’s Greek Restaurant. We joined Sheryl and Ted along with Ted’s cousin and his wife. We shared appetizers of Calamari Fritti served with fries, Meatballs – Kefdethes, and Feta Cheese. For dinner I had Venetian Style Tenderloin smothered in a Metaxa cream sauce with caramelized mushrooms (divine sauce) and Jerry had Youvetsi (beef chunks braised Greek style in red wine). Both were very good.

Both couples are full-timers. It is interesting to listen to them talk about their experiences. Ted’s cousin whose name I can’t remember said that when they first started RVing they would drive about 300 miles, pick a location and stay for a month and really get to know the place.

When we got back to the RV we put the car on the dolly and Jerry hooked it up so leaving in the morning will be quicker. He also emptied the gray tank and the front black tank. Nashville is only about 80 miles away so hopefully we can get there, get set up and do some site seeing tomorrow afternoon.

It’s only a bit after 8:00 but think I’ll get ready for bed now. I’m still not used to the time change and I guess by the time my body acclimates we’ll be in Memphis where it’s EST.

Leave a Reply

