Home Away From Home

Last Day in Memphis

Our last day in Memphis and I really think I could grow to love this city, at least what I know of it. I don’t know what the population is but it seems to be a fairly large city with a lot of smaller towns connected to it. Traffic is not a problem and it’s easy to get around. I think Jerry could get around now without the aid of the GPS.

I slept until after 7:00 and Jerry slept a little longer. After our morning rituals we got dressed and were on the road to Graceland before 10:00. It was a rather cool and dreary day so I tried to dress accordingly since I didn’t know how much we would be outside. We paid the $10 to get into the parking lot and then paid our $36 each for the platinum ticket. That got us into everything except the airplanes and as I heard one lady say “I’ve seen an airplane”.

We had about 45 minutes before the tour for the mansion started so we wandered around the complex. We went into one of the several gift shops and I saw a book of piano songs that I planned to buy later. There are a lot of t-shirts, sweatshirts, pajama bottoms, etc. with Elvis written on it. I thought we’d pass on those.

We lined up for the tour bus, had our picture taken in front of the Graceland sign, got on the bus and got our iPads and headphones for our audio tour. I was surprised when we arrived at the mansion. Although it is very pretty it is not nearly as large as I would have thought. It’s definitely an early 70’s house with olive green and harvest gold! Some walls and one ceiling had olive green carpet! Never seen that before but I guess it provides good acoustics. From what I had heard I truly expected the house to be a bit ostentatious but it wasn’t. Of course he did have a 15 foot sofa especially made for one particular room. The second floor was considered his personal space and was not opened to the public.

Interesting Furniture!
Interesting Furniture!

Though I had heard of his generosity I had never realized what a great philanthropist he was. There were any number of charities to which he had contributed not to mention the many personal gifts he had given. I also didn’t realized that he had a twin brother, Jessie who preceded him in birth and died as he was being born. While Vernon, his father, was distraught on the porch the doctor yelled there’s another one and it was Elvis. He was born in very small house in Tupelo, Mississippi but his family moved to Nashville when he was a young lad.

Didn't get a picture of the front but the backyard was beautiful.
Didn’t get a picture of the front but the backyard was beautiful.

After a tour of the house and the grounds we boarded another bus to go to the Archive Building. I would have liked to take some pictures of the front of the house but was not given the opportunity plus it was so cool and windy that it didn’t inspire me to ask about it.

After the brief archive tour and a 15 minute movie clip we were bused back to the complex. We walked through the car museum – wow, he had a lot of cars and amazingly they still have them. After that we were pretty hungry so we went to one of the cafes and had a delicious burger and fries. While Jerry was ordering our lunch I went over to the gift shop to buy the piano book and ended up getting that and two CD’s, one a gospel selection
Afterward we wandered around for a bit and then went on to the car. We talked about going back downtown but just decided to call it a day. We stopped by a Starbucks to get a cup of coffee and quite frankly to use their Internet. I am having trouble updating everything. US Cellular is not my friend.

As we came into the campground we stopped by the office to find out where the best place to get on the Internet was since our Wi-Fi at the coach is slim to none. They said they had just spent $5000 on upgrading. That’s a shame. Would hate to see what they had before. They rebooted it and it is a bit better – I guess.

We came on to the coach and spent the afternoon doing nothing, just resting I guess before our 200 mile trip to Athens, Alabama tomorrow.

Had a late dinner, salmon and then rushed out to get the car on the dolly before dark. As usual, this was our nicest afternoon and evening to be outside and we were inside cleaning the kitchen and trying to prepare for leaving in the morning. Jerry emptied the gray tank and his bathroom black tank so even if it is raining he won’t have to be outside too long. I’m hoping we don’t have another rainy day for him to drive in. My earlier calculations said that Athens is about 206 miles away but the GPS says it’s only 176. Only 30 miles different but when you’re getting close to the destination that seems to be a lot!

img_3235-2

Leave a Reply

