Home Away From Home

Where Are We Going Next?

As usual when we’re on the way home from a trip I am thinking of where we will be going next. Finding time for a trip gets to be challenging because at this point our rule (really mine) is to be home for the grands’ birthdays plus we have two dance recitals and this year a kindergarten graduation. In addition to that we are expecting two more grands, one in April and one in August! Trying to work out a trip around those days gets to be a little perplexing. Keep in mind though I am surely not complaining. Our grands are the lights of our eyes and nothing, not even RVing, takes the place of precious time with them.

We’re headed to Perry in a couple weeks for the FMCA Rally and will leave there and go to Raleigh for a horse show ending up back home by Easter Sunday. Of course while in Raleigh we will make a quick trip home one night for the birthday of our youngest granddaughter. Got to make those birthdays!

Jerry and I sat down with the calendars yesterday trying to figure out when we could travel and he gave me three dates reminding me that we didn’t have to travel just because he came up with those dates! The first date meant traveling to Clemmons for the birth of our sixth grandchild, stay there a few days and then head out. Our stay in Clemmons got extended a bit when I realized that our oldest granddaughter has a dance competition that week-end and since her mom probably won’t be able to go (having just had the baby) she asked her other grandmother and me to take charge of that, meaning hair and make-up. Oh my.

Anyway, I have several trips in my data bank that I work on occasionally hoping the time will magically appear to go on one of them. One trip is to Maine and yea – we had just enough time to go where we wanted to go and half of the trip was already planned. Since I had a good start on where we were going I started looking at campgrounds only to discover Maine is not opened yet! Campgrounds in Maine generally do not open until after Memorial Day. Oops – that does not fit into our travel dates as May is dance recital and kindergarten graduation time.

Oh well, pick another destination. Michigan is too far for our time frame plus the weather could be a little iffy in April so I decided on Ohio. I want to go to the Newmar factory in Elkhart, Indiana so I added that stop in. Keeping with our initial plan of visiting one state at a time most of our stops will be in Ohio except for traveling days. I’m excited to see what adventures we may find in Ohio! I’ll keep you posted. Ideas?

Leave a Reply

