Home Away From Home, North Carolina

Dry Falls and a Visit to Highlands, NC

What a fun day with friends from Georgia. As usual we started the day slowly trying to decide where to go and what to do. Finally a bit after 11:00 we left and our first stop was a Care Free Resort that Jim wanted to see. It really was a strange arrangement as there were several fifth wheels parked under sheds and there is no way they could be moved out. Hope they don’t change their minds and want a newer unit. Also, there were no cars and nowhere to park a car. Strange!

IMG_1892Our next stop was Dry Falls so named because supposedly you can walk under them and not get wet. We took the steps down to the falls and Jerry and I headed under them. You don’t get extremely wet but there is a mist constantly blowing. We took a few pictures and then I went back out and took pictures of Jan and Jim. We couldn’t find Jerry so I went back in to find him and he had found a rocky ledge and had laid down there just watching the lovely falls. Jim is a pastor so Jerry told him he was “hiding in the cleft of the rock”. We hiked back up and headed toward Highlands.

Jan and I enjoying the falls.
Jan and I enjoying the Dry Falls.
On the way to Highlands we passed Bridal Veil Falls, a place I had earlier wanted to visit. I’m glad we didn’t get to do it because it’s just a slight fall over the ledge. I think that at one time you could drive under it but that was not possible today. It was just water running off of a mountain, not really a water fall. I understand that it has been very dry up here, not much rain so perhaps that accounts for the lack of spill.

When we reached Highlands we just walked around and in and out of the various shops. It appears to be a small town full of shops, a lot of clothing boutiques.

Since it was way past lunch time we headed toward The Dillard House located in Dillard, Ga. I didn’t realize that we were so close to the Georgia state line but it didn’t take us long to get there. The food is served family style and it is incredible. We had country style steak and gravy, mashed potatoes, broccoli and cheese, creamed corn (tasted like it came right out of the cornfield), green beans, slaw with cheese topping, fried chicken, onion rings, fish bites and I think there were several sorts of bread but I never tried that. For dessert we had strawberry cobbler on cake with ice cream. Oh my – we ended up with three servings so after Jan and I ate ours we split the other one. If you’re ever in Dillard be sure to visit this restaurant. Not only is the food good but the restaurant itself is lovely plus it has a gift shop.

We rode on into Franklin and walked around some of the shops downtown. Tomorrow is “Airing Quilts” Day and there are already some quilts being shown.

When we got back to the campground we went to see Jan and Jim’s RV since we had never been in. I really like the way it is set up. Jerry and Jim worked on their awning and by that time it was time to go up to the clubhouse for dinner. None of us were hungry but we made a halfhearted attempt.

There were games after dinner and they were fun. Then I attempted to learn how to play Jokers and Pegs. That is a very fun game but there is a lot of strategy involved and I don’t think it’s an easily learned game. My team won but with little help from me as I really didn’t quite know what I was doing.
A walk back to the coach and bedtime after a full day!

Leave a Reply

